little changes

hello everyone!

it has been a busy week for me, november is definitely hectic over here! i’m looking forward to winding down with my family and cats when the winter break comes around.

today’s post is inspired by zen habits. i am currently going through leo babauta’s blog and love his simple, straightforward advice. i have been trying to find more balance in my life and trying to get rid of negative habits.

in order to avoid relapsing into old habits such as binge eating, procrastinating and being critical towards myself and others, i am starting with small, manageable steps:

1. drink more water

i have a little passion for skincare and beauty products but found that my diet and water intake didn’t really reflect that interest. instead of changing my whole diet in a single day, i am starting by being more mindful of the amount of water and tea that i drink.  i have done this in the past and saw dramatic differences in my skin’s condition and my general well-being. also, by making this small change, i saw myself drinking less coffee, and more tea. tea is truly a wonderful way to drink slowly and enjoy subtle flavours and sometimes i forget that and reach for coffee when in need of a caffeine boost.

2. make a realistic checklist of things to do

i have really high standards of what i want to accomplish in a day and to be honest, i almost never achieve what i thought i was capable of doing. i realised it wasn’t a question of potential or laziness but mostly not knowing how long a task takes to be successfully and satisfyingly accomplished. i really dislike finishing something for the sake of finishing it and i am trying to find balance in my everyday schedule to get things done properly and efficiently.

these days i find myself to be working at a slower pace but i am definitely more aware of how my attention span deviates and when i need to take a break. i hope that by studying how i work i can find a happy medium between being efficient and finishing tasks properly. making a checklist helps me keep track of my progress and see what truly fits in one day and what doesn’t.

3. meditation and spiritual time

november is slowly becoming more and more stressful and since i have the tendency to be quite anxious, i am working towards clearing my mind and thinking outside my (sometimes) overwhelming schedule. by meditating a few minutes a day, i feel more connected and compassionate to those around me and less anxious. i sometimes have days where i can’t seem to overcome the stress but i am finding myself generally calmer than previous busy months.

i also like to have spiritual moments where i recollect with my own faith and also by exploring what other faiths have to say. i have discovered really interesting and optimistic thoughts which do help me in everyday living. my spiritual life helps me to be thankful, optimistic and to open my heart to others. 

4. spend more time outside

cold weather tends to shut me in and while i love being at home, i also love seeing what the world has to offer. also, getting some sunshine is very important for me when i’m feeling stressed and i found that by taking the bus to commute (instead of the subway) and walking a little more helped me feel better physically and mentally. this asked for a little time management but i’ve found it to be completely worth it. i also like to be in a sort of meditative state where i channel my thoughts towards others and think optimistic thoughts. it helped me relieve stress and selfish thoughts and be more loving towards my family & friends as well as strangers.

5. no more sugar after lunch!

i’ve been trying to cut back sugar for the longest time and i’ve been having such a hard time. this baby step on the road to no-sugar living has helped me feel on top of the cravings. i’ve been doing research on the effects of sugar on our health and it’s not a pretty picture. thankfully, i stay away from most of the “super bad sugar” but do love fruit and chocolate and can binge on them like there’s no tomorrow. 

so that’s it! i hope this post is inspiring for those who struggle with a busy schedule. 

have a great day!!

marie

Leave a Reply

